SLCL Latest News New Website

Eleonora Stoppino and Ariana Traill named Professorial Scholars by College of LAS

11/15/2017  8:00 am

Eleonora Stoppino, Professor of French and Italian, and Ariana Traill, Professor of the Classics, are among 10 professors named Professorial Scholars by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS).

Stoppino has been named a John A. and Grace W. Nicholson Professorial Scholar. The position is intended to further the study of humanities, with special emphasis and preference given to the study of literature and the history of philosophy.

Traill, along with Dana Rabin, Professor of History, has been named a Lynn M. Martin Professorial Scholar. The position is intended to honor exceptional women teachers.

All of the positions were created through gifts to the College of LAS.

Feng Sheng Hu, the Harry E. Preble Dean of the College of LAS, said the new appointments are a point of pride for the College of LAS. “These named positions have been created by people who care deeply for the future of the liberal arts and sciences at Illinois, and the appointees are dedicated to their disciplines, the college and university, their colleagues, and their students,” said Hu. “We’re grateful for them and their good work.”